The South Carolina Chapter of the American College of Surgeons “Honored Surgeon Award” honors those Fellows who have demonstrated by their interest and conduct in their communities and the Chapter, an abiding interest in the quality of medical care, medical education and medical research. The honoree has demonstrated leadership in and made significant contributions to the health, safety, and/or welfare of patients in South Carolina. This is the highest award that can be given by the South Carolina Chapter of the American College of Surgeons.


Former Recipients

2008 – William M. Rambo, Sr., MD – Charleston

2009 – Biemann Othersen, MD – Charleston

2010 – No Recipient

2011 – Alden Sweatman, MD – Columbia

2012 – No Recipient

2013 – Richard Bell, MD – Columbia

2014 – Spence Taylor, MD – Greenville

2015 – No Recipient

2016 – David Adams, MD – Charleston

2017 – In Memory of Chad Rubin, MD – Columbia

2018 – No Recipient

2019 – Randolph D. Smoak, Jr., MD

2020 – Meeting Cancelled